Forum

Question - how to d...

Notifications
Clear all

Question - how to denote a chord being strummed in number notation?

Seven
(@seven)
Active Kalimbist

Hey y’all! I’m trying to write my first cover, and I’m having some trouble actually writing it. For example a part of the song calls for 2 4 6 (D F A, I think it’s the D chord? But I’m still very new to all this, so I’m sorry if I’m wrong!) to be strummed, and I’m having trouble conveying you need to strum the tines instead of plunking them one at a time, or plucking them all at the same time.

Sorry if this doesn’t make any sense, I don’t think I’m finding the right words here :p

Topic starter Posted : 03/01/2021 1:47 am
Topic Tags
Nataliya
(@admin)
Kalimba Advocate Admin

@Seven - check this post here and let me know if it helps please 

Owner of Kalimbera.com and KalimbaForum.com

ReplyQuote
Posted : 03/01/2021 1:51 am
Arlene Kao and Seven liked
Seven
(@seven)
Active Kalimbist

@admin Hi, thank you for your response! Unfortunately the post didn’t help - I’m wondering how to write chords in numbered notation, rather than playing them, if that makes sense? I already know I want to strum the D chord (2 4 6), I’m just trying to figure out how to best write that down for future reference/to share with others (in numbered notation). Unless I missed something in the post, which I’m very sorry if so 😥

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 03/01/2021 2:04 am
Nataliya liked
Seven
(@seven)
Active Kalimbist

*D major chord, not d chord 

This post was modified 2 months ago by Seven
ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 03/01/2021 2:06 am
Nataliya liked
Nataliya
(@admin)
Kalimba Advocate Admin

Perhaps try this

Owner of Kalimbera.com and KalimbaForum.com

ReplyQuote
Posted : 03/01/2021 2:07 am
PensionerPosse
(@pensionerposse)
Eminent Kalimbist

If you mean playing the notes of a chord in quick succession, I believe it's called an arpeggio.

Arpeggio